The Brian Way Award: Shortlist

21 March 2018

PRESS RELEASE: Theatre Centre Announce the Shortlist for The Brian Way Award

Theatre Centre today has announced the five playwrights who have been shortlisted for The Brian Way Award 2018.

The writers are (alphabetical order): Ross Dunsmore, Daniel Foxsmith, Afsaneh Gray, Gbemisola Ikumelo & Lydia Marchant.

Ross Dunsmore
Ross’ play Milk premiered at the Traverse Theatre as their flagship production of the Edinburgh Festival 2016, receiving the Tom Erhardt Award.

Daniel Foxsmith
Daniel was shortlisted for the 2017 Bruntwood Prize. He is a member of the Orange Tree Writer’s Collective 2017 and Artistic Director of Snuff Box Theatre.

Afsaneh Gray
Afsaneh is a playwright and screenwriter, a member of the Bush Theatre Emerging Writers’ Group and under commission by the Unicorn Theatre.

Gbemisola Ikumelo
Gbemisola is an actress, writer and director and has a written for both stage and screen, including commissions for BBC Comedy and the Barbican Centre.

Lydia Marchant
Lydia is a Hull Truck Theatre Supported Artist. She has participated in writer development schemes including at West Yorkshire Playhouse, National Theatre & Soho Theatre.

The Brian Way Award welcomed submissions earlier this year, inviting expressions of interest on the theme of ‘Treaty’ from professional UK-based playwrights. The winner of The Brian Way Award will have their play produced for Theatre Centre’s flagship national tour of schools and venues in 2019.

Artistic Director Natalie Wilson said:
When we launched the new Brian Way Award, we were keen to create new relationships with writers excited to write for children and young people, and in this case specifically teenagers and young adults. We are heartened by the amazing response from so many talented writers that have demonstrated passion, imagination and commitment to write brilliant plays. It’s a positive statement on the quality of work being made already and the future for new writing for young audiences.

The winner of The Brian Way Award will be announced at the end of March 2018.