Evan Placey wins Theatre Centre's Brian Way Award

23 April 2012


Last Thursday, Evan Placey won Theatre Centre Brian Way Award 2012 for his play ‘Holloway Jones’ commissioned by Synergy Theatre Project. Last year’s winner Keith Saha presented him with a cheque for £6,000 at the Shoreditch Town Hall, London where the ceremony took place.


This Award celebrates best new plays for young people professionally produced or commissioned and performed in the UK in the past year. Evan was chosen by a panel of 5 judges: Ben Payne (Co-director of Ministry of Stories), Jenny Jules (actor currently in ‘Moon on a Rainbow Shawl’ at the National Theatre), Keith Saha (Brian Way Award 2011 winner), Meera Shekar (Young Artistic Associate at Lyric Hammersmith) and Ned Glasier (Artistic Director of the Islington Community Theatre).


Evan receiving the award said: “Thank you to Theatre Centre for this incredibly generous award which will give me the time to write something else which is the most amazing thing for a writer. Thank you to Synergy Theatre Project and and thank you mainly to the young people who sat there with me and told me their stories.”


Along with ‘Holloway Jones’ the following plays were shortlisted:

·         ‘The Machine Gunners’ by Ali Taylor produced by Polka Theatre

·         ‘Get Santa!’ by Anthony Neilson and Nick Powell produced by the Royal Court

·          ‘Little Miracles’ by Joy Wilkinson produced by Islington Community Theatre

·         ‘The Great Bear of the North’ by Jude Emmet produced by Red Dog Productions


Natalie Wilson, Theatre Centre’s Artistic Director says: ““The judges felt that Evan Placey’s writing displayed an inherent theatricality in his use of language and imagery and the truthful story-telling showed a great talent and understanding in writing for young audiences.””


The ceremony also included the presentation to Kenneth Emson of the Adrienne Benham Award 2012; a £2000 Seed commission for emerging playwrights for young people. Geraint Rhys Edwards was awarded the Dorothy L. Sayers Award; a £500 cash prize for Most Promising Young actor whose first professional job was with Theatre Centre.